Guess Who’s Back? Tell A Friend

I once announced on Facebook, quite dramatically, that I was giving up on ever writing again as Table for Five. It was a reaction to losing my table4five dot net domain when the domain name renewal came due and I was not checking email or even thinking about it – which is a story for another post. By the time I remembered to type in the URL and see what was there, someone else had bought the domain, but at least it’s a food blog and fits the title.

I started my first blog in 2005 on the old Blogger, when clicking “post” sometimes meant that Blogger thought about it for a few seconds and then decided nope, and the post vanished. That frustration took me here to WordPress.com.  So, you might be wondering, why not just restart the old table4five.wordpress.com? Because I changed email addresses a couple of times and lost the activation key.

If you want to go look at table4five.wordpress.com, you’ll see a photo of me on the left hugging my longtime friend, blogger and Amazon.com bestselling author J. Sterling. I lost the password and can’t reset it because I have no way to access the old Outlook password I had back then. So I can look at my old blog all I want, I just can’t add to it. Thus, this blog.

I also changed the name of the blog, from Table for Five to Table4Five to match all of my social media accounts. I went with the more correctly written name last time, but table4five has fewer spaces for Twitter anyway 🙂

Why start a new blog now? Because of my new job. After decades of working retail, banking, and trying my hand at professional blogging, I am finally using the skills my parents and profs at MSU drilled into my head and getting paid to craft sentences that are correctly worded, grammatically correct and compliant. I’m doing writing for the cognitive behavioral therapy field, so as I’m writing, I’m internalizing.

Which means writing about someone’s trauma sometimes triggers me, as cliche as I know that word has become. But it’s a real thing in behavioral therapy, triggers are real and I have more than a few. So as I write, sometimes it puts me right back into situations I’d rather not remember. I need somewhere to write about that because I can only vent to my husband so much, he’s already worried this job will be too stressful for me.

I don’t know how often I’ll get the urge to write something. Posts might be long or short, about work or about a video I can’t stop watching or a song stuck in my head, or about my kids. The only label I would give this is “Personal” blog. There will be content that may be NSFW (not safe for work) or not appropriate for the eyes of the tiny humans, and I’ll say so at the beginning. I’m new to this again, so if anything looks wonky on your computer, tablet, or PC , please feel free to let me know.

Wow. I’m blogging. Again. Maybe.

Hopefully.

xoxo

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

